Welcome to the Murfreesboro, TN Branch of AAUW!

Announcing our inaugural fundraiser. Join us February 18th!


Click here to purchase your Songs for Scholarships tickets!
RSVP to Songs for Scholarship on Facebook and invite your friends.

Looking for an organization that cares about the same issues as you do? Do you believe in equal pay for equal work? Advancing education for women and girls? Then AAUW is for you!
AAUW of Murfreesboro is a company of college-educated individuals from all walks of life who share a common purpose—To work toward equity for women and girls in education and in the workplace. We are part of a national and state network that makes a difference both locally and nationally.

Our mother organization in Washington, D. C. (200,000 members strong) is a powerful voice on women’s issues (http://www.aauw.org/ ). Our Tennessee organization (http://aauw-tn.aauw.net/) supports legislation in the General Assembly that will make positive changes for women in the workplace.

AAUW of Murfreesboro meets monthly—September through May, excluding January—on the second Thursday of the month, 5:00 to 7:00 PM. At these meetings, we learn about women’s issues, plan activities to advance women and girls, and share a meal. We make lifelong friends, have fun, and enjoy good eats!

We welcome members from all professions and businesses who care about equity for women and girls in education and in the workplace. The only requirement for membership is a college degree, including an associate’s degree.

Our activities include raising funds for local and national scholarships and for legal advocacy for women and educating the public about the pay gap for women and lobbying for paycheck fairness. We also partner with other community organizations to create opportunities for women and girls, such as co-sponsoring “Expanding Your Horizons,” the science and mathematics conference for middle school girls, and adopting the Rutherford County Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Program.

For more information, contact Dia Cirillo, aauwboropresident@gmail.com. In principle and in practice, AAUW values and seeks a diverse membership. There shall be no barriers to full participation in this organization on the basis of gender, race, creed, age, sexual orientation, national origin or disability.

Upcoming Events

Songs for Scholarships
An Evening of Music by Don Henry
February 18, 2016
6:30 p.m.
The Miller Club inside TN Miller Coliseum
304 B West Thompson Lane
Tickets are on sale now for $35 and must be purchased in advance. Click here to purchase.
No one under age 21 will be admitted.
Purchase price includes wine, beer, soft drinks and hors d’oeuvres.
All proceeds benefit MTSU students through the Ruth Houston Memorial Scholarship fund.

AAUW-TN State Convention: Dinner & Board Meeting
Friday, April 8
6:00-9:00 PM
Blackstone Brewery
1918 West End Ave in Nashville
All AAUW members are welcome to attend the board meeting.

AAUW-TN State Convention
Saturday, April 9
9:00AM–3:00 PM
Scaritt-Bennett Center
1008 9th Ave S in Nashville
Convention: Examining Equity in Education and Employment
Registration deadline is March 9. Download and complete registration form here: http://tinyurl.com/AAUWTNConv
A block of rooms has been reserved for AAUW at the Best Western Brentwood. Deadline to reserve a room at the group rate is March 2.


Recent Events

Working hard and having fun staffing the Murfreesboro Half Marathon in October.

Branch members and guests have a laugh over AAUW trivia questions at the October meeting.