Ruth Houston Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship

AAUW Murfreesboro is now accepting applications for the Ruth Houston Memorial Undergraduate Scholarship

Click here to download a PDF version of the eligibility and application information listed below. Click here to download a printable flyer to share with your students.

Eligibility        The Murfreesboro Branch of AAUW will award a $1,000 scholarship each semester—Fall 2017 Semester and Spring 2018—to a nontraditional female undergraduate student, age 24 or older, who best demonstrates academic promise and financial need. To be eligible for consideration, applicants must have successfully completed their freshman year at MTSU. Award recipients may renew the scholarship each semester as long as full-time status and a 2.5 GPA are maintained.

Application        Applicants must submit the following electronically or by hard copy. Only completed applications will be considered.

  1. Name, address, telephone number, email address, MTSU M number
  2. Copy of college transcripts from current enrollment at MTSU
  3. Two letters of reference from referees acquainted with applicant’s academic or professional work
  4. An essay of no more than 1,000 words describing (1) the applicant’s professional goals and the manner in which the scholarship will contribute to the applicant’s success and (2) the applicant’s financial need. The essay should be typed.

Application materials should be electronically delivered to Hard copies of application materials should be sent to

Yüan-ling Chao, Chair
AAUW Scholarship Committee
MTSU P.O. Box 023

Application Due Date        Application materials are due Friday, March 10 by 5:00 PM. Applicants will be notified March 27, 2017.

Successful awardee will be strongly encouraged to attend the Equali-TEA event on April 11, 2017, at 4:00 PM to be publicly recognized.

Recent Ruth Houston Memorial Scholarship Recipients

Bethany Jackson
Major: Education
Kanwal Qureshi
Major: Nutrition/Food Science
Rita Jane Jones
Ginny Lucas
Kamryn Warren
Tara Nevill
Rose Carter